Cognitive biases and false beliefs about COVID-19

In partnership with:






 

 

 

 

 

 

This column highlights certain cognitive biases in play when people adopt false beliefs regarding the COVID-19 pandemic. 

JVP-logo-reversed.png

Belief bias

by Émilie Gagnon-St-Pierre

Belief bias refers to our tendency to rely on our pre-existing beliefs to evaluate a conclusion. This leads us to overestimate the validity of a credible conclusion, independently of its true logical validity [1]. This is one of the most studied and demonstrated phenomena in the field of reasoning. The tendency is accentuated when we are obliged to reason quickly [2].

 

Experts in logic differentiate between the logical validity of a given reasoning (or argument), and the veracity of the premises and the conclusion. Logical validity depends on the logical relationship that links the premises and the conclusion within the argument. The veracity of the premises or the conclusion refers to whether the information presented in them is true in the real world. It is important to understand that an argument may be logically valid, but nonetheless contain premises or conclusions that are false, just as it may be logically invalid but arrive at a conclusion that is true.

Example

Consider the reasoning in the following two sets of statements:

Reasoning A

 

Premise 1

Sheep are people who blindly trust the government.

 

Premise 2

People who get vaccinated against COVID-19 blindly trust the government.

 

Conclusion

People who get vaccinated against COVID-19 are sheep.

Reasoning B

 

Premise 1

Prudent people trust the government.

 

Premise 2

People who get vaccinated against COVID-19 trust the government.

Conclusion

People who get vaccinated against COVID-19 are prudent people.

It is likely that you perceive one of the two reasonings to be more valid than the other depending on what content does or does not seem true to you. However, these two arguments have an identical logical form and are both invalid. Thus, the impression of veracity of the conclusions wrongly influences the assessment of the validity of reasoning.

Repetition effect

by Cloé Gratton

The repetition of a piece of information can increase its perceived credibility, compared to a new piece of information. We tend to (irrationally) reinforce our belief in information if it is presented to us multiple times. When we are not familiar with a topic, and where the situation is ambiguous, it is normal to look for clues to judge the truth or falsity of a piece of information. The source of the information, or the context wherein the information is received, can be good external markers to evaluate the truth or falsity in a given situation. However, repetition itself should not serve as a signal of truth, since it does not add anything new to the conversation in terms of credibility. For this reason, the repetition bias is also called the “illusory truth effect” [3].

Example

In 2020-2021, in the heart of the coronavirus pandemic, former U.S. President Donald Trump repeated on television, on Facebook, Twitter and at a press conference that the COVID-19 virus had been manufactured in the laboratory by Chinese scientists. These statements were repeated many times by the former president, but also by conspiratorial media and relayed in a satirical or journalistic manner on several occasions. A survey by an independent firm found that nearly three in ten Americans believe this theory. One can think that the repetition of this kind of information had some responsibility in the high percentage of the American population believing this scenario. To this day, this scenario is not supported by evidence.

Confirmation bias

by Janie Brisson

Confirmation bias is a tendency, often unconscious, to be overly supportive of information that confirms a hypothesis, to the detriment of information that contradicts it. This bias can occur in different ways. When information conforms to our hypothesis, it can be remembered more easily [4] or given more weight than information that contradicts it. Sources of information that support the hypothesis may also come under less critical scrutiny [5]. This bias can occur in a context where we are dealing with a subject related to emotions, opinions or beliefs, but also in a neutral context where these factors are not at play.

Example

Conspiracy theories regarding the COVID-19 pandemic are plentiful and varied. One of them suggests that the authorities declared a health emergency in order to force the population to accept a vaccine that they do not need, in order to promote the economic domination of the pharmaceutical industry. Several types of information can be presented in support of this theory, such as proposals for alternative treatments to COVID-19, some data taken out of context from vaccine approval protocols, or annual death rates from seasonal influenza.

 

While this information may hold some veracity, it is not sufficient to support the conspiracy theory put forward when compared to scientific studies carried out by both the pharmaceutical industry and public health authorities. Confirmation bias plays an important role in maintaining this position: the fact of favoring the information presented as supporting evidence to the detriment of any information which invalidates this hypothesis, whether through lack of access to information or lack of confidence in scientific protocols, will lead a person to have an illusion of objectivity and strengthen their belief in the conspiracy theory.

Echo chamber

by Sara Germain

In the same way that an echo repeats our own voice, the “echo chamber” phenomenon is a type of confirmation bias that occurs when we are constantly exposed to ideas or beliefs that confirm our own positions [6]. This phenomenon, inherent to the online context, happens when we voluntarily consult only content with which we already agree [6]. The information selection process constitutes a confirmation bias because it introduces a bias into the information to which we are subjected [6]. When we are constantly presented with content that echoes our own beliefs, divergent opinions start to appear marginal because of their reduced visibility [7].

Example

Despite strong enthusiasm in the early stages of the vaccination campaign, officials are noticing that people who have not yet made their vaccine appointments are increasingly reluctant to do so. The “anti-vax” movement, which was already gaining strength in digital spaces, has experienced significant growth over the past year. Due to the interactive aspect of social media,  people have been able to tailor their social media news feeds so that the information conveyed there primarily (if not only) reflects their beliefs that the COVID19 vaccine is, at best, ineffective and, at worst, dangerous. Although many studies have been done to contradict this information, this information does not pierce through the echo chambers of refractory individuals. Or if they do, they receive little credibility because of the larger number of "sources" that deny them.

Negativity bias

by Nicolaï Abramovich

Negativity bias refers to the tendency to be more affected by negative information and contingencies than by positive ones [8]. Thus, we retain more memories linked to negative emotions than positive ones [9]; the vocabulary for describing pain is richer than that for describing pleasure [8]; and the prospect of economic loss is more frightening than the prospect of potential gain is reassuring [10]. The brain reacts intensely to negative entities such as germs, while the opposite does not occur for positive entities [8]. Therefore, when it comes to reasoning, judging and acting, the negative very often outweighs the positive. This bias is considered universal [11, 12], but some studies suggest that it may decrease with age [12].

Example

Conspiracy theories argue that certain actions with serious or dangerous consequences for the community are secretly orchestrated by small groups for profit.

One of the most widely circulated conspiracy theories during the COVID-19 pandemic was that of the artificial origin of the virus. Scientists from the Institut Pasteur were said to have created it in the laboratory, then dispersed it voluntarily in the wild in order to profit from marketing the vaccine used to control it. Our brains spot this terrible accusation, and our negativity bias is activated. Not only does this theory easily attract our attention but in addition it remains very present in our memory because our brain gives priority to negative information over positive information. Therefore, the "argumentative millefeuille" so characteristic of conspiracy theory is effective because it systematically reifies complex situations into simple and negative ones. Cognitively, these simple, negative situations command more of our attention.

The thesis of the artificial origin of the virus has met with great success, in particular thanks to the massive distribution of the pseudo-documentary “Hold Up”. Today, it has collapsed since the Institut Pasteur has still not released a vaccine.

Near bias effect

by Sophie-Andrée Vinet and Cloé Gratton

The near-bias effect is defined by the tendency to be more concerned about what happens in the present than what will happen in the future. When given a choice, people are inclined to prefer immediate rewards to those available after a delay, implying that the value of delayed rewards relative to more immediate ones are discounted (i.e. are perceived to be worth less) [13]. For this reason, economists refer to this concept as temporal discounting. While economists popularized this concept, it has also been extensively studied in psychology, in individual and group settings, and it applies to several social phenomena such as drug addictions [14] and procrastination [15].

Example

Proximity bias can be reflected in movements protesting public health measures linked to COVID-19. There are many restrictions in place in different countries to limit the spread of the coronavirus: wearing a mask in public places, physical distancing, limits on the number of customers who can visit businesses at the same time, etc. Several protest movements have emerged against these measures around the world.

 

Although other factors may explain adherence to these protest movements, proximity bias may also play a role as people are not prepared to sacrifice their daily freedoms in service to a distant future goal. In other words, in this particular case, people are not ready to wear a mask today in order to lessen the spread of the virus in the longer term. They place more importance on their comfort here and now than on the long-term beneficial consequences, which include better public health and safety and less threat to the health care system.

[1] Evans, Jonathan. S. B., Julie L. Barston & Paul Pollard (1983). On the conflict between logic and belief in syllogistic reasoning. Memory & Cognition, 11(3), 295-306.

 

[2] Evans, Jonathan. S. B. & Jodie Curtis-Holmes (2005). Rapid responding increases belief bias: Evidence for the dual-process theory of reasoning. Thinking & Reasoning, 11(4), 382-389.

[3] Dechêne, Alice, Christoph Stahl, Joachim Hansen & Michaela Wänke (2010). The truth about the truth: A meta-analytic review of the truth effect. Personality and Social Psychology Review 14(2): 238-257.

[4] Frost, Peter, Bridgette Casey, Kaydee Griffin, Luis Raymundo, Christopher Farrell & Ryan Carrigan (2015). The influence of confirmation bias on memory and source monitoring. The Journal of General Psychology, 142(4), 238-252.

 

[5] Jones, Martin & Robert Sugden (2001). Positive confirmation bias in the acquisition of information. Theory and Decision, 50(1), 59-99.

[6] Sunstein, Cass R. (2018). # Republic: Divided democracy in the age of social media. Princeton University Press.


[7] Williams, Hywel T., James R. McMurray, Tim Kurz & Hugo F. Lambert (2015). Network analysis reveals open forums and echo chambers in social media discussions of climate change. Global Environmental Change, 32: 126‑138.

[8] Paul Rozin & Edward B. Royzman (2011). Negative bias, negativity dominance and contagion, Personality and Social Psychology Review, 5(4): 296-320.

[9] Amrisha Vaish, Tobias Grossmann & Amanda Woodward (2008). Not all emotions are created equal: the negativity bias in social-emotional development, Psychological Bulletin, 134(3): 383-403.

[10] Daniel Kahneman, Jack. L. Knetsch, & Richard. H. Thaler. (1990). Experimental tests of the endowment effect and the Coase theorem, Journal of Political Economy, 98: 1325-1348. 

[11] Keith Chen & Venkat Lakshminrayanan (2006). How basic are behavioral biases? Evidence from capuchin monkey trading behavior, Journal of Political Economy, 114(3): 517-537. 

[12] Michael A. Kisley, Stacey Woods & Cristina L. Burrows (2007). Looking at the sunny side of life: Age-related change in an event-related potential measure of the negativity bias, Psychological Science, 18: 838-643. 

[13] Story, Giles W., Ivo Vlaev, Ben Seymour, Ara Darzi & Raymond J. Dolan (2014). Does temporal discounting explain unhealthy behavior? A systematic review and reinforcement learning perspective. Frontiers in Behavioral Neuroscience, 8, 1-15.

 

[14] Bickel, Warren K., Amy L. Odum & Gregory J. Madden (1999). Impulsivity and cigarette smoking: delay discounting in current, never, and ex-smokers. Psychopharmacology 146, 447-454.

[15] Haiyan, Wu, Gui Danyang, Lin Wenzheng, Gu Ruolei, Zhu Xiangru & Liu Xun (2016). The procrastinators want it now: Behavioral and event-related potential evidence of the procrastination of intertemporal choices. Brain and Cognition 107:16-23.

Les biais cognitifs et les fausses croyances sur la COVID-19

En partenariat avec :






 

 

 

 

 

 

Cette rubrique vise à mettre en relief certains des biais cognitifs en jeu dans les fausses croyances liées à la COVID-19. 

JVP-logo-reversed.png

Biais de croyance

par Émilie Gagnon-St-Pierre

Le biais de croyance réfère à la tendance à se fier à ses croyances pour évaluer une conclusion. Cela mène au fait de surestimer la validité d’une conclusion crédible, et ce, indépendamment de sa validité logique réelle [1]. Il s’agit d’un des phénomènes les plus étudiés et démontrés dans le domaine du raisonnement. Cette tendance serait accentuée lorsque nous devons raisonner rapidement [2].

 

Les experts en logique font une distinction entre la validité logique d’un raisonnement et la véracité des prémisses et de la conclusion d’un raisonnement. La validité logique dépend de la relation logique qui unit les prémisses et la conclusion du raisonnement. La véracité des prémisses ou de la conclusion fait référence au fait que l’information qu’on y trouve est vraie dans le monde.  Il est important de savoir qu’un raisonnement peut être valide logiquement, mais ne contenir que des prémisses et une conclusion fausses, tout comme il peut être invalide logiquement et contenir tout de même une conclusion qui soit par ailleurs vraie.

Exemple

Considérez les deux raisonnements suivants : 

Raisonnement A 

 

Prémisse 1

Les moutons sont des gens qui font aveuglément confiance au gouvernement.

 

Prémisse 2

Les gens qui se font vacciner contre la  COVID-19 font aveuglément confiance au gouvernement.

 

Conclusion

Les gens qui se font vacciner contre la COVID-19 sont des moutons.

Raisonnement B 

 

Prémisse 1

Les personnes prudentes font confiance au gouvernement.

 

Prémisse 2

Les gens qui se font vacciner contre la COVID-19 font confiance au gouvernement.

Conclusion

Les gens qui se font vacciner contre la COVID-19 sont des personnes prudentes.

Il est probable que vous perceviez un des deux raisonnements comme étant plus valide que l’autre en fonction du contenu qui vous semble véridique ou non. Or, ces deux raisonnements ont une forme logique identique et sont invalides. Ainsi, l’impression de véracité des conclusions influence à tort l’évaluation de la validité des raisonnements. 

Effet de répétition

par Cloé Gratton

La répétition peut augmenter la crédibilité perçue d’une information, comparativement à une nouvelle information. On a tendance à renforcer (irrationnellement) notre croyance envers une information si celle-ci nous parvient de manière répétée. Il est normal de se fier à des indices pour juger de la vérité ou de la fausseté d’une information quand la situation est ambiguë et qu’on ne détient pas de connaissances préalables sur un sujet.  La source ou le contexte par lequel nous provient l’information peuvent être de bons indices externes pour évaluer la vérité ou la fausseté dans une situation donnée. Par contre, la répétition à elle seule ne devrait pas servir à signaler la vérité, puisqu’elle n’ajoute rien à la discussion en termes de crédibilité. Pour cette raison, l’effet de répétition porte aussi le nom d’« effet de vérité illusoire » [3].
 

Exemple

En 2020-2021, en plein cœur de la pandémie du coronavirus, l’ancien Président américain Donald Trump a répété à la télévision, sur Facebook, Twitter et en conférence de presse que la COVID-19 aurait été fabriquée en laboratoire par des scientifiques chinois. Ces déclarations ont été répétées maintes fois par l’ancien Président, mais aussi par des médias conspirationnistes et relayés de manière satirique ou journalistique à plusieurs reprises. Un sondage réalisé par une firme indépendante a révélé que près de trois Américains sur 10 croyaient à cette théorie. On peut penser que la répétition de ce genre d'information ait eu une part de responsabilité dans ce haut pourcentage de la population américain croyant ce scénario. Il est à noter qu'à ce jour, cette hypothèse n'a pas été appuyée par des éléments de preuves.

Biais de confirmation

par Janie Brisson

Le biais de confirmation est une tendance, souvent inconsciente, à être trop favorable envers les informations qui confirment une hypothèse et ce, au détriment de celles qui la contredisent. Ce biais peut se produire de différentes manières. Lorsque l’information est conforme à notre hypothèse, on peut se la remémorer plus facilement [4] ou lui donner plus de poids que l’information qui la contredit. Les sources de l’information qui confirment l’hypothèse peuvent aussi subir un examen moins critique [5]. Ce biais peut survenir dans un contexte où on traite un sujet lié aux émotions, opinions ou croyances, mais aussi dans un contexte neutre où ces facteurs ne sont pas en jeu.

Exemple

Les théories conspirationnistes concernant la pandémie de COVID-19 sont abondantes et variées. Certaines d’entre elles suggèrent que les autorités auraient déclaré l’état d’urgence sanitaire afin de forcer la population à accepter un vaccin dont elle n’a pas besoin et ce, dans le but de favoriser la domination économique de l’industrie pharmaceutique. Plusieurs types d’information peuvent être présentés en soutien à cette théorie, comme les propositions de traitements alternatifs à la COVID-19, certaines données prises isolément sur les protocoles d’approbation des vaccins ou les décès annuels provenant de la grippe saisonnière. Bien que ces informations puissent détenir une certaine véracité, elles ne suffisent pas à appuyer la théorie conspirationniste mise de l’avant lorsque comparée aux études scientifiques effectuées tant par l’industrie pharmaceutique que par les autorités sanitaires.

 

Le biais de confirmation joue alors un rôle important dans le maintien de cette position : le fait de favoriser l’information présentée comme preuve au détriment de celle qui infirme l’hypothèse, par manque d’accès à l’information ou par manque de confiance envers le protocole scientifique, mènera une personne à avoir une illusion d’objectivité et renforcera sa croyance en la théorie conspirationniste.

Chambre à écho

par Sara Germain

Tout comme l’écho nous renvoie notre propre voix, le phénomène de chambre à écho constitue un biais de confirmation qui se réalise lorsque nous sommes constamment renvoyé-es à des idées ou des croyances qui nous confortent dans nos propres positions [6]. Ce phénomène, inhérent au contexte en ligne, se manifeste lorsque l’on consulte volontairement et uniquement le contenu avec lequel nous sommes en accord [1]. Ce processus de sélection de l’information est ce qui en fait un biais de confirmation, puisque cela introduit un biais dans l’accès même à l’information à laquelle nous sommes soumis-es [1]. En étant sujet de manière constante à du contenu qui fait écho à nos propres croyances, les points de vue divergents en viennent à paraître marginaux en raison de leur présence réduite [7].

Exemple

Malgré un engouement fort dans les premiers temps de la campagne de vaccination, les autorités remarquent que les gens n’ayant pas encore pris leur rendez-vous pour le vaccin sont de plus en plus réticents à le faire. Le mouvement « antivax », qui était déjà assez fort sur les espaces numériques, a vécu un essor important au cours de la dernière année. En raison de l’aspect interactif des médias sociaux, ces personnes ont pu adapter leurs fils de nouvelles sur les réseaux sociaux de sorte que les informations qui y sont véhiculées traduisent principalement (voire uniquement) leurs propres croyances que le vaccin contre la COVID19 est, au mieux inefficace, au pire dangereux. Même si de nombreuses études ont été réalisées pour démentir ces informations, ces informations ne percent pas à travers les chambres à échos des individus réfractaires. Ou si elles le font, elles ne reçoivent que peu de crédibilité en raison du nombre plus important de « sources » qui les démentent. 

Biais de négativité

par Nicolaï Abramovich

Le biais de négativité désigne la tendance à être plus affecté-e par les informations et les éventualités négatives que par celles positives [8]. Ainsi, nous retenons davantage les souvenirs liés à des émotions négatives que positives [9]; le vocabulaire pour décrire la douleur est plus riche que celui pour décrire le plaisir [8]; et la perspective d’une perte économique fait plus peur que ne rassure celle d’un gain potentiel [10]. Le cerveau réagit de manière intense face à des entités négatives comme des germes alors que le contraire ne se produit pas pour des équivalents positifs [8]. Par conséquent, au moment de raisonner, de juger et d’agir, le négatif l’emporte très souvent sur le positif. Ce biais est considéré comme universel [11,12], mais certaines études suggèrent qu’il pourrait s’atténuer avec l’âge [12]. 

Exemple

Les théories du complot soutiennent que certaines actions dont les conséquences sont graves ou dangereuses pour la collectivité seraient secrètement orchestrées par des petits groupes afin de tirer des bénéfices. 

 

Une des thèses complotistes qui a le plus circulé pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 est celle d’une origine artificielle du virus. Des scientifiques de l’Institut Pasteur l’auraient créé en laboratoire; puis, ils l’auraient dispersé volontairement dans la nature pour faire des profits économiques en commercialisant le vaccin servant à le contrôler. Notre cerveau repère cette accusation terrible et notre biais de négativité s’active. Non seulement cette théorie attire facilement notre attention mais en plus elle reste très présente dans notre mémoire car notre cerveau accorde la priorité aux informations négatives par rapport aux informations positives. Par conséquent, le « millefeuille argumentatif » si caractéristique du complotisme est d’autant plus efficace qu’il réifie systématiquement des situations complexes en situations simples et négatives. Or, cognitivement, ces dernières nous interpellent davantage. 

 

La thèse de l’origine artificielle du virus a connu un grand succès notamment grâce à la diffusion massive du pseudo-documentaire Hold Up. Aujourd’hui, elle est tombée à l’eau puisque l’Institut Pasteur n’a toujours pas sorti de vaccin. 

Biais de proximité

par Sophie-Andrée Vinet et Cloé Gratton

Le biais de proximité est défini par la tendance à se préoccuper davantage de ce qui se passe dans le présent que de ce qui se passera dans le futur. Lorsqu'on leur donne le choix, les gens sont enclins à préférer les récompenses immédiates à celles disponibles après un délai, ce qui implique que la valeur des récompenses différées par rapport aux récompenses plus immédiates est réduite (c'est-à-dire qu'elles sont perçues comme valant moins) [13]. Pour cette raison, les économistes appellent ce biais la « dévalorisation temporelle ». Si les économistes ont popularisé ce concept, il a également été largement étudié en psychologie, en contexte individuel et de groupe, et il s'applique à plusieurs phénomènes sociaux tels que la toxicomanie [14] et la procrastination [15].

Exemple

Le biais de proximité peut se refléter dans les mouvements contestataires des mesures sanitaires liées à la COVID-19. Les restrictions en place dans différents pays pour limiter la propagation du coronavirus sont multiples : port du masque dans les lieux publics, distanciation physique, quotas de clients pouvant visiter commerces, etc. Plusieurs mouvements contestataires ont vu le jour contre ces mesures à-travers le monde.

 

Bien que d’autres facteurs peuvent expliquer l’adhésion à ces mouvements contestataires, le biais de proximité peut jouer un rôle dans la mesure où les gens ne sont pas prêts à sacrifier leurs libertés quotidiennes aujourd’hui au profit d’un objectif plus éloigné dans le temps. Autrement dit, dans ce cas précis, les gens ne sont pas prêts à porter le masque aujourd’hui dans le but d’engendrer des résultats positifs à long terme. Ils accordent une importance plus grande à leur quotidien ici et maintenant qu’aux conséquences bénéfiques à long terme, qui incluent une meilleure santé et sécurité publiques et une moins grande menace sur le système de santé.

Références

 

[1] Evans, Jonathan. S. B., Julie L. Barston & Paul Pollard (1983). On the conflict between logic and belief in syllogistic reasoning. Memory & Cognition, 11(3), 295-306.

 

[2] Evans, Jonathan. S. B. & Jodie Curtis-Holmes (2005). Rapid responding increases belief bias: Evidence for the dual-process theory of reasoning. Thinking & Reasoning, 11(4), 382-389.

[3] Dechêne, Alice, Christoph Stahl, Joachim Hansen & Michaela Wänke (2010). The truth about the truth: A meta-analytic review of the truth effect. Personality and Social Psychology Review 14(2): 238-257.

[4] Frost, Peter, Bridgette Casey, Kaydee Griffin, Luis Raymundo, Christopher Farrell & Ryan Carrigan (2015). The influence of confirmation bias on memory and source monitoring. The Journal of General Psychology, 142(4), 238-252.

 

[5] Jones, Martin & Robert Sugden (2001). Positive confirmation bias in the acquisition of information. Theory and Decision, 50(1), 59-99.

[6] Sunstein, Cass R. (2018). # Republic: Divided democracy in the age of social media. Princeton University Press.


[7] Williams, Hywel T., James R. McMurray, Tim Kurz & Hugo F. Lambert (2015). Network analysis reveals open forums and echo chambers in social media discussions of climate change. Global Environmental Change, 32: 126‑138.

[8] Paul Rozin & Edward B. Royzman (2011). Negative bias, negativity dominance and contagion, Personality and Social Psychology Review, 5(4): 296-320.

[9] Amrisha Vaish, Tobias Grossmann & Amanda Woodward (2008). Not all emotions are created equal: the negativity bias in social-emotional development, Psychological Bulletin, 134(3): 383-403.

[10] Daniel Kahneman, Jack. L. Knetsch, & Richard. H. Thaler. (1990). Experimental tests of the endowment effect and the Coase theorem, Journal of Political Economy, 98: 1325-1348. 

[11] Keith Chen & Venkat Lakshminrayanan (2006). How basic are behavioral biases? Evidence from capuchin monkey trading behavior, Journal of Political Economy, 114(3): 517-537. 

[12] Michael A. Kisley, Stacey Woods & Cristina L. Burrows (2007). Looking at the sunny side of life: Age-related change in an event-related potential measure of the negativity bias, Psychological Science, 18: 838-643. 

[13] Story, Giles W., Ivo Vlaev, Ben Seymour, Ara Darzi & Raymond J. Dolan (2014). Does temporal discounting explain unhealthy behavior? A systematic review and reinforcement learning perspective. Frontiers in Behavioral Neuroscience, 8, 1-15.

 

[14] Bickel, Warren K., Amy L. Odum & Gregory J. Madden (1999). Impulsivity and cigarette smoking: delay discounting in current, never, and ex-smokers. Psychopharmacology 146, 447-454.

[15] Haiyan, Wu, Gui Danyang, Lin Wenzheng, Gu Ruolei, Zhu Xiangru & Liu Xun (2016). The procrastinators want it now: Behavioral and event-related potential evidence of the procrastination of intertemporal choices. Brain and Cognition 107:16-23.